AG boys Roll to Undefeated Title, SLO and AG Girls split Championship

Both the Arroyo Grande boys and girls swim teams clinched Pac-8 championships last Thursday at the Pac-8 championships.

The boys scored 635 points to finish off a dominant season in league competition. The girls fell just short of San Luis Obispo, but their undefeated dual meet record and their second place finish in the championship earned them a co-championship.

Boys Meet

On the boys side, Arroyo Grande won 8 of the eleven events. They got early momentum with a win in the 200 medley relay as Charlie Watkins, Jack Alexander, Trent Schachter, and Chris Dichmann teamed up for a 1:37.89 .

Arroyo Grande would go on to sweep the relays, as Christian Solis, Alexander, Dichmann, and David Malouf took the 200 free relay crown with a 1:27.89. In the 400 free relay, Solis, Schachter, Malouf, and James Hazel swam a 3:15.15 to earn the win.

Solis won the 50 free in 21.73. He later won the 100 free in an epic back and forth race between teammate Jack Alexander and Lukas Sheckerd from rival Righetti with a league record time of 47.17. Alexander led for the first three laps, but at the turn Sheckerd seemed to be taking control. But in the final 12.5 yards Solis charged and pulled away for the win. Sheckerd touched second with a 47.60, and Alexander took third with a 47.80.

Schachter also took two events, as he won the 100 butterfly in 52.31 and the 100 backstroke in 53.30.

Alexander won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:01.04 in a tight race with Ryker Dacus of Righetti, who touched in 1:01.58.

James Hazel earned second team all-league honors in the 200 free with a 1:48.63 and the 500 free with a 4:49.67.

The diving event was won by Blake Griffith of San Luis Obispo, followed by three Eagles: Richard Niece, Charles Fox, and Nicolas Zarate.

The Eagles capped off a dominant league performance to score a total of 635 points and roll to their second straight (and second overall) title. The runner up, San Luis Obispo, was 253 points behind the Eagles. Arroyo Grande went 7-0 in Pac-8 competition during the season and won by an average margin of victory of 119 points.

Final Standings:

1. Arroyo Grande (7-0) 653 points- Undefeated Champions

2. San Luis Obispo (5-2) 382 points

3. Paso Robles (4-3) 356 points

4. Righetti (5-2): 355 points

5. Atascadero (4-3) 193 points

6. St. Joseph 86 points

7. Mission College Prep 80 points

8. Pioneer Valley 69 points

Girls Meet

On the girls side, Arroyo Grande and San Luis Obispo traded blows throughout the meet. San Luis Obispo outlasted the Eagles, 523-471.5 points, but Arroyo Grande’s 163-152 dual meet win resulted in a co-championship.

The Arroyo Grande 200 medley relay team of Paige Leonard, Sarah Parson, Hannah Parson, and Mikayla Pock took the title with a 1:52.12.

Hannah Parson would go on to win two events, the 200 free and the 100 free, both in dominant fashion. She took the 200 in 1:56.30, and the 100 in 53.47.

For San Luis Obispo, the relay team of Tyra Popovich, Sabrina Johnson, Anna Petersen, and Adelynn Peterson team two win the 200 free relay. Peterson and Petersen teamed with Morgan Leishman and Gabrielle Penvenne to win the 400 free relay with a time of 3:40.74, with Penvenne anchoring in a 51.64.

Penvenne won the 200 individual medley in a time of 2:06.80, as well as the 100 fly in 56.71. Leishman won the 100 backstroke in a close race with Leonard of Arroyo Grande. It came down to the finish, and Leishman pulled away on the last few strokes to beat Leonard with a time of 1:01.19 to 1:02.24.

The diving event was won by Alyssa Shallenberger of Arroyo Grande.

Final Standings

1. San Luis Obispo (6-1) 523 points- co champions

1. Arroyo Grande (7-0) 471.5 points- co champions

3. Righetti (5-2) 303.5 points

4. Atascadero 265 points

5. Paso Robles 246 points

6. Pioneer Valley 142 points

6. Mission College Prep 142 points

8. St. Joseph 122 points

The Pac-8 will compete in the 2015 CIF-SS Division 2 championships this Friday and Saturday at Riverside City College. Prelims in on Friday at 9:00am, and finals is Saturday at 10:00am.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s